Applications open for New European Bauhaus Prizes 2022 - deadline 28 February

NEB Prizes 2022

Nóirín Ní Earcáin
European Commission DG CNECT

The European Commission has opened applications for the 2022 New European Bauhaus prizes. Following the success of the first prizes that received more than 2,000 applications last year, the 2022 edition will celebrate new inspiring examples of the transformations the initiative wants to bring about in our daily lives, living spaces and experiences. As in the first edition, the New European Bauhaus prizes 2022 will award young talents' ideas as well as existing projects for sustainability, inclusiveness and aesthetics bringing the European Green deal to people and local communities.

Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth, Mariya Gabriel, said: “The New European Bauhaus draws from Europe's culture, education, science and innovation to turn the promise of the European Green Deal into improvements for our daily lives. I look forward to seeing the best of European creativity come to life in this year's applications.”

Commissioner for Cohesion and Reforms, Elisa Ferreira, said: “Now more than ever we need sustainable and innovative ideas to transform the way we live and work, while leaving no one behind. The New European Bauhaus rewards the best, boldest and brightest concepts for improving our regions and cities in a manner that is both people and planet friendly. Cohesion policy will continue to help transform these new ideas into reality across European regions, for the benefit of all our communities.”

Prizes will be awarded to projects and ideas that contribute to beautiful, sustainable and inclusive places, in four categories:

  • reconnecting with nature;
  • regaining a sense of belonging;
  • prioritising the places and people that need it most;
  • fostering long-term, lifecycle and integrated thinking in the industrial ecosystem.

The categories reflect the four thematic axes of transformation of the New European Bauhaus. These were identified during the co-design phase of the initiative, with the participation of thousands of people and organisations who contributed their views and experiences. Entries will be assessed with reference to the three core values of the initiative: sustainability, aesthetics and inclusion. Applicants from all Member States as well as from around the world are encouraged to apply as long as their projects/ ideas are located in the European Union.

In each of the categories, there are two parallel competition strands:

  • The ‘New European Bauhaus Awards' - for existing completed examples within the last two years; and
  • The ‘New European Bauhaus Rising Stars' - for concepts or ideas submitted by young creators under 30 years of age.

In addition to 16 prizes awarded by jury (one winner and one runner-up for each category and strand), two additional prizes will be selected by a public vote among top entries. In total, 18 winners will receive prize money of up to €30,000, as well as a communication package to help them further develop and promote their initiatives.

Applications are open until 28 February 2022 at 19:00 CET. Applicants of all nationalities and backgrounds are welcome, as long as their concepts, ideas and projects are developed or physically located in the EU.


The New European Bauhaus is an environmental, economic and cultural project, aiming to combine design, sustainability, accessibility, affordability and investment in order to help deliver the European Green Deal.

Launched by President von der Leyen in her 2020 State of the Union address, the New European Bauhaus was co-designed together with thousands of people and organisations across Europe and further beyond.

In September 2021, the initiative moved from co-design to delivery with a Commission Communication setting out policy actions and funding to make the initiative a reality.

More Information

Questions and Answers

Prizes website

Commission Communication on the New European Bauhaus

European Commission announces the New European Bauhaus prize winners (2021) 




There are no comments yet.
Be the first one to post a comment!

More articles



The Data Space for Smart and Sustainable Cities and Communities (DS4SSCC) initiative invites you to take part in a survey, launched as part of the ongoing work of the data space for smart and sustainable cities and


The AI transparency standard is out

Nine cities, cooperating through the Eurocities network, have developed a free-to-use open-source ‘data schema’ for algorithm registers in cities. The data schema sets common guidelines on the information to be collected on algorithms and their use by a city.


Open call for a Chair of the Mayors’ Digital Assembly

The Living-in.EU movement is now at full speed and wants to launch the first Mayors’ Digital Assembly during the Brussels Urban Summit, on Tuesday 13 June in Brussels.


Data, Interoperability, Standards - Report on the 4th Living-in.EU Supporters Meeting

The living-in.EU open supporters meeting took place on the 20th December 2022 and counted with 64 participants representing companies and researchers from all over Europe.

Promoted by